Makeshift-Monday banana & oat mini muffins

There’s something impossible about a Monday morning, especially when it’s your first day back into semester 2 lectures and you’re in for 9am. Then, after being back for only just an hour, being set an online test due 9am tomorrow morning – as if! And to top it off, my timetable leaves me a 6 hour gap between lectures. So it’s fair to say that this morning I woke up feeling somewhat uninspired by my Monday schedule. But sometimes you have to remind yourself to make the best of the situation, and by that I mean make something delicious. 

One of my pet hates is wasting food, and in particular fruit & veg as it tends to go off quicker than I can use it up! I hadn’t had the chance to do my food shop for the week yet, and I was running dangerously low on bananas – a position I do not like to be in – and I couldn’t bring myself to throw away the slightly overripe one that I had left! But then I remembered that bananas at this stage in their ripeness (that must be a word?) are perfect for baking with as they are deliciously sweet and easy to mix. So after a quick cupboard sweep I decided to throw together a quick and healthy bake before heading back into uni. It took me 20 minutes in total and it’s such a simple recipe using only a few ingredients, that can also be gluten & dairy free! Bear in mind that I have totally improvised on the ratios, so i’m sure that my next experiment with this recipe will turn out slightly different, perhaps even tastier, but i’m actually really pleased with how these mini muffins turned out! If you decided to have a go at this recipe, let me know if you modify/improve it – I would love to hear any suggestions.

Banana & oat mini muffins: (makes 6 mini muffins)

IMG_2035.JPG

  • 1 cup ground rolled oats (Use GF if necessary, I put mine in a food processor but small rolled oats may work!)
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg
  • splash of milk of choice (I use DF almond milk)
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp brown sugar (optional – to sprinkle on top before baking)
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 160°C (fan). Mash up the banana and add into a mixing bowl. Combine with the ground oats, baking powder, salt and cinnamon before adding in your wet ingredients gradually. Mix well, a wooden spoon works better than a whisk for this one! Put 6 cake cases into a tray and fill each one evenly, the muffins will rise but not by too much so don’t be afraid to fill the cases to near the top if there is enough mix! Before baking, sprinkle some oats and brown sugar on the top – or get creative by folding in some blueberries, topping with banana slices or sprinkling on more cinnamon before placing in the oven. Let the muffins bake for 10-12 mins, then take out and test with a sharp knife to see if it comes out clean. They may need another minute or two depending on the size of your cases – but don’t over cook them as they are most delicious with a slightly moist center! Take the tray out when they are golden and gorgeous, and leave on the side to cool – give them some time to really bind as they cool. Store in an air tight container in the fridge to keep them for longer!

Me and my housemate waited as long as we could, a whole 5 minutes, before tucking into one topped with a big dollop of almond butter – I would highly recommend! These are perfect to take on the go as an easy & quick energy boost, the oats will keep you fuller for longer as a slow-release energy source, and the natural sweetness of the maple syrup and banana are sure to satisfy your mid-morning cravings. You could also try doubling or even tripling the recipe to make more, as i’m certain that 6 won’t last long! And be sure to try your own variations, you’ll be surprised at what you can create with just a few simple, natural ingredients. Unfortunately tomorrow’s timetable doesn’t include a baking interval, wish me luck. 

Leave a Reply

