Avo-salsa & the city

I think it’s safe to say that I won’t be the only one tonight with a serious case of the Sunday-blue’s, a very real side-effect of a great weekend. This weekend has reminded me that sometimes the best way to regain your focus is simply to let your mind wonder for a little while – and for me, exploring the city works best. I notice something different every time, whether it’s the people, the window displays, or new additions to menu’s of restaurants! But there’s one thing that remains consistent, my Starbucks order, and that city centre ‘buzz’. There must be some kind of infectious energy flowing around!

IMG_1793

Making your way through that never ending to-do list can start to become totally unproductive without you even noticing. This happens to me so much during revision! So instead of reaching the point of mindlessly staring at your books rather than actually reading them, or accidentally typing the lyrics of the annoying song that’s stuck in your head instead of typing up your lecture notes, the best thing to do is to drag yourself away from your desk and into the fresh air for just enough time to regain your focus.

IMG_1689

This brings me to another very simple & refreshing component of my weekend, my homemade avo-salsa! This easy, nutritious side is mega heart-healthy and packs in so much flavour. There’s a reason (or 17 according to this article) for the avocado’s celebrity status in modern cooking, and I love sneaking it into my meals in any way I can! This recipe is gluten and dairy free and left-overs can be stored in the fridge, in an air-tight container, for 2 – 3 days (the acidity of the lime helps to prevent the avo browning sooner). I enjoyed mine for lunch with hummus, toasted wholewheat pitta strips, asparagus dippers and a fresh hard-boiled egg!

Simple avo-salsa: (Makes 2 servings)

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

  • 1 whole small/medium avocado, ripe
  • 1/4 red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp dried chili flakes
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1/2 cup tomato, seeds removed and finely chopped
  • Handfull of fresh coriander, torn/chopped
  • A pinch of salt & pepper

Cut your avocado in half and remove the seed. Scoop out the flesh and cut into small chunks. In a bowl, combine all of your chopped ingredients and mix with a fork, keeping it chunky! Add in the lime juice, chili flakes and S&P and mix again – making sure to taste-test so that it’s just how you love it! Store in an air-tight container in the fridge, it’s best served fresh and cool!

I love this as a side to sweet potato wedges or toasted wholewheat pitta, as a topping for rice cakes or toast, or simply as a dip for baked tortilla chips! But avocado isn’t the only starring roll in most of my dishes. I’m also partial to adding eggs, beans, anything green, chili flakes and hummus to most of my lunches. I think hummus is worth a second mention actually. It is my total go-to accompaniment whether i’m spreading it, dunking in it, or eating it with a spoon. And it’s generally dairy & gluten free with the exception of some flavour varieties – you can buy a whole range of flavours, but it’s easy to make and add in whatever you fancy, so here are some recipes if you’re feeling adventurous!

IMG_1847.JPG

Let me know if you try this, or any of my other recipe posts, with your meals! I’d love to hear any thoughts & ideas. And remember to take a few moments for yourself this week. Have a great Monday!

 

2 thoughts on “Avo-salsa & the city

Leave a Reply

